Sikhism Symbol

It depicts the Sikh doctrine Deg Tegh Fateh in emblematic form. Sikhism Symbol consists of three weapons and a circle: the khanda, two kirpans and the chakkar (circle).

Khanda - Symbol of Sikhism
Khanda – Symbol of Sikhism

It is the military emblem of the Sikhs. It is also part of the design of the Nishan Sahib. A double edged khanda (sword) is placed at the top of a Nishan Sahib flag as an ornament or finial.

Sikhism 10 Gurus

Ten Gurus established Sikhism, divine spiritual messengers or masters, over the period from 1469 to 1708 – that is, over a period of 239 years.

1. Guru Nanak Dev Ji – Guru from 1469 to 1539

2. Guru Angad Dev Ji – Guru from 1539 to 1552

3. Guru Amar Das Sahib Ji – Guru from 1552 to 1574

4. Guru Ram Das Sahib Ji – Guru from 1574 to 1581

5. Guru Arjan Dev Ji – Guru from 1581 to 1606

6. Guru Har Gobind Sahib Ji – – Guru from 1606 to 1644

7. Guru Har Rai Sahib Ji – Guru from 1644 to 1661

8. Guru Har Krishan Sahib Ji – Guru from 1661 to 1664

9. Guru Tegh Bahadur Sahib Ji – Guru from 1665 to 1675

10. Guru Gobind Singh Sahib Ji – Guru from 1675 to 1708

11. Guru Granth Sahib Ji – Guru from 1708 to eternity

Sikhism Holy Book

The Sikhs have two Holy Books for their guidance and revelation of their underlying beliefs and principles as laid down by the Ten Gurus.

  1. Sri Guru Granth Sahib- The Sri Guru Granth Sahib also known as Adi Granth is more than a Holy Book for the Sikhs.
  2. Dasam Granth-  It is the collection of the writings of the 10th Patshah, Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji.

Sikhism History

The history of Sikhism started with Guru Nanak Dev Ji, the first Guru in the fifteenth century in the Punjab region in the northern part of the Indian subcontinent. Guru Gobind Singh Ji formalized religious practices on 13 April 1699.

Islamic rulers killed prominent Sikh Gurus for refusing to convert to Islam, and for opposing the persecution of Sikhs and Hindus. Of total 10 Sikh gurus, Mughal persecuted last 6 gurus, tortured  and executed 2 gurus.

The emergence of the Sikh Confederacy under the misls and Sikh Empire under reign of the Maharajah Ranjit Singh was characterized by religious tolerance and pluralism with Christians, Muslims and Hindus in positions of power.

The establishment of the Sikh Empire is commonly considered the zenith of Sikhism at political level, during this time the Sikh Empire came to include Kashmir, Ladakh, and Peshawar.

Later Hari Singh Nalwa, the Commander-in-chief of the Sikh army along the North West Frontier, took the boundary of the Sikh Empire to the very mouth of the Khyber Pass.

The Empire’s secular administration integrated innovative military, economic and governmental reforms.

Sikhism Founder

Guru Nanak was the founder of Sikhism and the first of the ten Sikh Gurus. He was born 29 November 1469. Later Guru Nanak travelled far and wide teaching people the message of one God who dwells in every one of His creations and constitutes the eternal Truth.

His birth is celebrated worldwide as Guru Nanak Gurpurab on Kartik Pooranmashi, the full-moon day in the month of Katak, October–November. Guru Nanak died on 22 September 1539 in Kartarpur, at the age of 70.

Sikhism Religion

The basis of Sikhism lies in the teachings of Guru Nanak and his successors. Later many sources call Sikhism a monotheistic religion.

In Sikhism, the concept of “God” is Waheguru considered Nirankar (shapeless), akal (timeless), and Alakh Niranjan (invisible).

The Sikh scripture begins with Ik Onkar (ੴ), which refers to the “formless one”, and understood in the Sikh tradition as monotheistic unity of God.

Sikh ethics emphasize the congruence between spiritual development and everyday moral conduct. Later its founder Guru Nanak summarized this perspective with “Truth is the highest virtue, but higher still is truthful living.”

Sikhism Quotes

“If you can’t see God in All, You can’t see God at All.”

“Even kings and emperors, with mountains of property and oceans of wealth – these are not even equal to an ant, who does not forget God.”

“He Himself makes the mortals anxious, and He Himself takes the anxiety away.”

“By forgetting the Supreme Lord, all the ailments cling to the man.”

Brave is he, who possessing strength displays it not, and lives in humble ways.

Only the brave person dies a worthy death, For he is accepted by the Lord after his death.

“Everyone makes mistakes; only the Guru and the Creator are infallible.”

“In deep humility, I fall at the Feet of the Perfect True Guru. The Guru is the Honor of the dishonored. The Guru, the True Guru, brings approval and applause.”

“Be happy, dear beloved, as long as your youth is fresh and delightful. But your days are few – you have grown weary, and now your body has grown old.”

“True wealth does not drown, and its owner is never punished.”

Sikhism 5 KS

These are five items that Guru Gobind Singh commanded Khalsa Sikhs to wear at all times in 1699.

They are: Kesh (uncut hair), Kangha (a wooden comb for the hair), Kara (an iron bracelet), Kachera (100% cotton tieable undergarment (not an elastic one)) and Kirpan (an iron dagger large enough to defend oneself).

Leave a Reply