The Delhi Sultanate was a Muslim Turkish and Afghan sultanate based in Delhi that ruled over large parts of the Indian subcontinent for 320 years (1206–1526). Five dynasties ruled over the Delhi Sultanate sequentially:

  1. The Mamluk dynasty (1206–90)
  2. The Khalji dynasty (1290–1320)
  3. The Tughlaq dynasty (1320–1414)
  4. The Sayyid dynasty (1414–51)
  5. The Lodi dynasty (1451–1526)

The sultanate is noted for being one of the few states to repel an attack by the Mongol Empire, and enthroned one of the few female rulers in Islamic history, Razia Sultana, who reigned from 1236 to 1240.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *